Board and governance

Board members 2016-17

Dr Deirdre Davies, President

d-daviesDeirdre joined the Board in 2004 and has been the President since 2010. She is currently working in Senior Management for a not-for-profit organisation in the Early Years sector. Deirdre has a diverse professional background including nursing, community consultation, research and evaluation, facilitation and strategic planning. She has a PhD and Bachelor of Science in Sociology and has a particular interest in the social issues surrounding community wellbeing and community development.

Elizabeth Eaton, Vice President

e-eatonElizabeth Eaton joined the Board in 2012. Her degree is a bachelor of Psychology from UWA, which she has utilised in mining in the north-west, research at CSIRO, and teaching in management and organisational psychology at UWA. Additional relevant background experience includes member and chair of the Lonnie Panel of the Institute of Public Administration, ten years on local government, and member and chair of one of W.A.s six natural resource management groups. She has a longstanding interest in the criminal justice system.

John Vojkovich, VICE PRESIDENT

john-jovojkovich-clear-backgroundJohn joined the Board of Outcare in April 2015. He currently holds the position of General Manager and  Chief Financial Officer at Keystart Home Loans. John has executive level financial management and corporate governance experience across a number of industries including the not for profit sector. He is a qualified accountant (CPA) and Chartered Secretary.

Eileen Newby, Treasurer

e-newbyEileen joined the Board in 2007 and has been the Treasurer since 2008. She currently works for a firm of commercial lawyers as an accountant and company secretary and has responsibility for the management of family investment companies. Eileen is also a director and chair of the finance committees of the Local Government Insurance Scheme Board and Youth Legal Services Inc Board. She is a member of CPA Australia’s Centre of Excellence for Retirement Savings and is a CA (New Zealand) and a CPA.


will-beresfordiiWill joined the board in August of 2016. Currently, Will holds the position of Partnerships Executive at Ronald McDonald House who provides a home for regional families. Will has been a Board Member within the disability sector as well as an Interstate Committee Chair for a volunteer-matching not for profit. Currently, Will is in the process of completing his Masters of Business Administration (MBA).

Judge Anette Schoombee, board member

anette-schoombeeJudge Anette Schoombee has been a judge of the District Court of Western Australia since 2007. Before that she was a barrister practising at the independent Bar in Perth for eight years. She migrated to Australia in 1987 and worked as a solicitor and later partner in commercial and insurance law for Parker & Parker and Freehills. She studied languages and law at the University of Stellenbosch in South Africa and was raised in Namibia.

She was a director of Australian Women Lawyers Inc (a national organisation) from 2003 to 2004, a director of WA Bar Chambers Pty Ltd (which runs Francis Burt Chambers, the largest barristers’ chambers in Perth) from 2001 to 2004 and President of Women Lawyers WA from 2004 to 2006.  She is also a trained and accredited mediator.

Gordon Trewern, Board Member

gordon-trewernGordon joined the Board in 2014. He has been the CEO of Nulsen Disability Services since 1994. Widely involved within the disabilities sector, he sits on state and national committees in government and non-government arenas. Gordon is currently a director on the National Disability Services Board and the Vice Chair of the NDS state division.